6 Books To Read If You Like TED Talks

microphone-1261793_1920

Books made just for TED talk fans!

Ever watched a TED talk that left you dying to learn more? Then you will love the TED book series! These original books from TED take a deeper dive into the concepts introduced by some of the most fascinating of TED talks. Below we’ve highlighted six of our favorite TED books along with their corresponding TED talks:

6 inspiring stories from TED talks:

1. Why We Work by Barry Schwartz

why-we-work-2

In this groundbreaking work, acclaimed writer and thinker Barry Schwartz dispels a deeply ingrained myth: the reason we work is primarily to get a paycheck. How did we come to believe this? Through fascinating studies and compelling anecdotes, Schwartz takes the reader on an eye-opening tour, illuminating the destructive way work operates in our culture and ultimately empowering the reader to find their own path to good work.

Companion TED Talk: The Way We Think About Work is Broken

 

2. The Art of Stillness by Pico Iyer

the-art-of-stillness

An unexpected truth from a celebrated travel writer: stillness just might be the ultimate adventure. Pico Iyer reveals how stillness can act as a creative catalyst and advocates for a way of living that counters the frenetic design of our modern lives.

Companion TED Talk: The Art of Stillness

 

3. Follow Your Gut by Rob Knight

follow-your-gut

Allergies, obesity, acne — these are just a few of the conditions that may be caused (and someday cured!) by the microscopic life inside us. How does this groundbreaking science influence your health, mood, and more? Pioneering scientist Rob Knight pairs with award-winning science journalist Brendan Buhler to explain why these new findings matter to everyone.

Companion TED Talk: How Our Microbes Make Us Who We Are

 

4. Judge This by Chip Kidd

judge-this

First impressions are everything. They dictate whether something stands out, how we engage with it, whether we buy it, and how strongly we feel. This is especially true when it comes to design. And design is all around us, secretly shaping our world in ways we rarely recognize — except if you yourself are a designer, like Chip Kidd.

Companion TED Talk: The Art of First Impressions — In Design and Life

 

5. Beyond Measure by Margaret Heffernan

beyond-measure

A powerful manifesto for CEOs and managers alike, Beyond Measure reveals how organizations can make huge changes with surprisingly small steps. In this book, Heffernan looks back over decades spent overseeing different organizations and comes to a counterintuitive conclusion: it’s the small shifts that have the greatest impact.

Companion TED Talk: Why It’s Time to Forget the Pecking Order at Work

 

6. When Strangers Meet by Kio Stark

when-strangers-meet

Kio Stark invites you to discover the unexpected pleasures and exciting possibilities of talking to people you don’t know. Stark reveals how these simple, surprising encounters push us toward greater openness and tolerance — and also how these fleeting but powerful emotional connections can change you and the world we share.

Companion TED Talk: Why You Should Talk to Strangers

 

What’re some of your favorite TED talks? Share them with us by leaving a comment below.


Want to learn how to tell stories like these TED talk speakers?

Learn how to use storytelling to sell any idea, pitch any product, and inspire any team by watching our #BPAuthorChat webinar “Why Storytelling is the Key to Success in Business,” featuring Carmine Gallo. Gallo is a communications coach and author international best seller Talk Like TED.

why-storytelling-is-the-key-to-success-in-business


This post was written by Michelle Drucker, the manager of marketing at BookPal. She is currently reading Influence by Robert Cialdini and The Corrections by Jonathan Franzen.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS