Stock Up Your Classroom With These New Education Books

New Education Books

With so many great books coming out this year, we’ve collected seven of the best new education books for students. Whether they be new releases or special editions of beloved tales, these books are sure to liven up your classroom bookshelf!

Here are 7 new education books to look forward to:

1. Love by Matt de la Peña

Love

In this heartfelt celebration of love, Newbery Medal-winning author Matt de la Peña and best-selling illustrator Loren Long depict the many ways we experience this universal bond, which carries us from the day we are born throughout the years of our childhood and beyond. With a lyrical text that’s soothing and inspiring, this tender tale is a needed comfort and a new classic that will resonate with readers of every age.

Available now

2. Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda Special Edition by Becky Albertalli

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda Special Edition

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier would prefer to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email between him and Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing with, falls into the wrong hands, Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone. This special edition of the widely popular novel includes new Simon and Blue emails, a behind-the-scenes look at the movie adaptation, and an interview with the author.

Available January 29, 2018

3. Elmore by Holly Hobbie

Elmore

Elmore is a porcupine desperate to make friends. But it is hard to seek closeness with others when you’re covered with spikes that shoot off your back every so often. Elmore suffers rejection and heartbreak, but the goodness of his forest community ultimately shines through as the animals find a way to connect with this prickly bundle of love. Fans of Holly Hobbie’s Toot & Puddle series will fall in love with this warmhearted porcupine.

Available January 29, 2018

4. What Do You Do With a Chance? by Kobi Yamada

What Do You Do With a Chance?

In the final addition to the award-winning What Do You Do With…? picture book series, a child is visited by his first chance. Unsure what to do with it, he lets it go. Later on, when a new chance arrives, he reaches for it. This time, he misses and falls. Embarrassed and afraid, he begins ignoring every new chance that comes by. One day he realizes that he doesn’t need to be brave all the time, just at the right time. Read along to find out what amazing things can happen when you take a chance.

Available February 5, 2018

5. A Wrinkle in Time: Book of Fun, Facts, and Science by Disney

A Wrinkle in Time Book of Fun, Facts, and Science

One of the most beloved children’s books of our time is coming to the big screen! In this companion book to the movie, young adventurers can bring the science of A Wrinkle in Time into their own lives. What is the fifth dimension? How does tessering work? What’s the connection between science and daily life?  This activity book is complete with quizzes, puzzles, games, and background about the world of the movie. Write on the pages and learn as you go!

Available February 6, 2018

6. If You Come Softly: Twentieth Anniversary Edition by Jacqueline Woodson

If You Come Softly

Celebrating its 20th anniversary, Jacqueline Woodson’s beloved, lyrical story of star-crossed love is as timely as ever. When Jeremiah begins to attend a fancy prep school in Manhattan, he discovers he doesn’t exactly fit in. So it’s a surprise when he meets Ellie the first week of school. In one frozen moment their eyes lock, and after that, they know they fit together–even though she’s Jewish and he’s Black. Their worlds are so different, but to them, that’s not what matters. Too bad the rest of the world has to get in their way.

Available March 5, 2018

7. Trouble Next Door: The Carver Chronicles, Book Four by Karen English

Trouble Next Door

Third-grader Calvin is dealing with his next-door neighbors moving away — and the school bully moving in. Meanwhile, competition at the school science fair is heating up, and Calvin must decide what to do when his data doesn’t prove his theory. This lively installment in a chapter book series about a diverse group of elementary schoolers offers spot-on storytelling, relatable characters and situations, and plenty of action.

Available March 12, 2018

 

Best New Education Books


This post was written by Megan Habel, the marketing associate at BookPal. She is currently reading Hamilton: The Revolution by Lin-Manuel Miranda & Jeremy McCarter.

2 Responses to “Stock Up Your Classroom With These New Education Books”

  1. Khem Irby

    In the description of Jacqueline Woodson’s book you capitalize the word “Jewish” but not the word “black”. I know that there is a rule but in the 21st Century we are Black Americans. Any description of any group should be capitalized as it is a proper description of a group of people who define themselves. The rule does not get to define us.

    Reply
    • Megan Habel

      Hi Khem, thank you for pointing this out! We have gone ahead and changed the description. We appreciate your feedback.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

[type=field]
[type=field]