13 Books to Bring On Vacation With You This Summer

books-for-summer-1

Pack your bags with these trending new books and summertime classics!

For many of us, summer is the time for vacationing. With the kids out for summer and the warm, beautiful weather, there are plenty of ways to spend your vacation days. Whether you’re a busy parent getting ready for the annual family vacation or a working professional gearing up for a much-needed retreat, we have the perfect travel companion for you: a good read! We’ve scoured the web and asked our publisher friends for their top recommendations. Below is a list of recommended books for summer to consider adding to your must-read collection!

Our top 5 summer reading picks:

1. The Girls by Emma Cline

the girls

One of the most buzzed-about upcoming releases, The Girls is a haunting portrait of girls, the women they become, and the moment in their lives when everything can go horribly wrong. Follow the story of Evie Boyd, a lonely, thoughtful teenager who is seduced by an exotic, thrilling, but dangerous cult — a fictionalized Manson family.

We’d recommend this book for fans of psychological thrillers like The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl.

 

2. How Not to Be Wrong by Jordan Ellenberg

how not to be wrong

Even as adults, it’s easy to believe that the math we learned in school is just a dull set of rules. But it doesn’t have to be this way. How Not to Be Wrong shows us that math isn’t an abstract concept. Math touches everything we do in the real world, from answering questions like “how early should you get to the airport?” to discussing what Facebook can and can’t figure out about you, Jordan Ellenberg demonstrates how using the tools of mathematics can help you understand the world in a deeper and more meaningful way.

This book will resonate with fans of Freakonomics and Thinking, Fast and Slow.

 

3. Around the World in Eighty Days by Jules Verne

around the world in 80 days

Summer is all about travel — and so is Jules Verne! Around the World in Eighty Days, one of Verne’s classics, takes you on an incredible journey with Phileas Fogg and Passepartout as they set out to win a larger-than-life bet. Visit London, Suez, Hong Kong, and many other cities during this action-packed adventure of a lifetime.

Perfect for literary travelers, we recommend this title for fans of Gulliver’s Travels and War of the Worlds.

 

4. Barkskins by Annie Proulx

barkskins

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Award, author Annie Proulx writes an epic literary novel about the taking down of the world’s forests. With a vivid cast of characters and compelling narrative, Barkskins recounts the lives of two families over the span of three hundred years. Through thick and thin, they’ve seized what they could of their presumed infinite resource — the world’s forests, leaving their modern-day descendants face-to-face with potential ecological collapse.

With an unflinching focus on key issues facing today’s society, this book would be a great read for fans of Being Mortal and The Innovators.

 

5. Tropical World by Millie Marotta

tropical world

The adult coloring book trend is here to stay. Tropical World is filled with pages of intricate tropical designs that will help you unwind no matter where you go. Perfect for summer, use your artistic craftiness to complete a rainforest scene, add details to balm trees, create new patterns, and personalize every single page to your liking. Just don’t forget to pack a box of color pencils!

This summer-themed coloring book is perfect for fans of The Mindfulness Coloring Book and Color Me Calm.

 

8 more books for summer that we just couldn’t leave out!

 

9-books-for-summer-002

6. Extreme Prey by John Sandford

7. Everybody’s Fool by Richard Russo

8. Here’s to Us by Elin Hilderbrand

9. The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo by Amy Schumer

9-books-for-summer-02

10. Seven Brief Lessons on Physics by Carlo Rovelli

11. The Master and Margarita by Mikhail Afanasevich Bulgakov

12. The Hour of Land by Terry Tempest Williams

13. But What If We’re Wrong? by Chuck Klosterman


Subscribe to our blog newsletter to find out more about the best new and upcoming titles! 


This post was written by Elizabeth Lee, the marketing associate at BookPal. She is currently reading The Organized Mind by Daniel J. Levitin and Outliers by Malcolm Gladwell.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS