Books for Fans of Hamilton: An American Musical

Hamilton Books

Ten Hamilton books to add to your shelf.

Since it burst onto the Broadway stage in 2015, Hamilton: An American Musical has captured the attention of music fans and history buffs alike. Never before has a musical educated and inspired such a wide base of fans. We’re celebrating the release of the award-winning Broadway musical on Disney+ with selections about the musical and the man.

For Fans of the Musical

“And the world is gonna know your name, what’s your name, man? Alexander Hamilton.”

Hamilton: The Revolution by Lin-Manuel Miranda & Jeremy McCarter
This ultimate companion to the hit musical provides behind-the-scenes photos and interviews and exclusive footnotes from creator Lin-Manuel Miranda.

 

Hamilton: Portraits of the Revolution by Josh Lehrer
Experience Hamilton like never before with over 100 photos with accompanying commentary by the cast about their experiences and the show’s impact on the world.

 

The Secret Life of the American Musical: How Broadway Shows Are Built by Jack Viertel
Ever wondered how musicals like Hamilton come to be? Drawing from a range of examples, Viertel paints a picture of how Broadway musicals are made, taking you through all the phases of a typical musical theater story, from opening numbers to finales.

History about Hamilton

“And when you’re gone, who remembers your name? Who keeps your flame? Who tells your story?”

Alexander Hamilton by Ron Chernow
Discover the groundbreaking biography that influenced Lin-Manuel Miranda to write the hit musical.

 

 

The Federalist Papers by Alexander Hamilton, James Madison, John Jay, & Richard Beeman
This selection of nineteen essays from The Federalist Papers showcases the initial goal of the Founding Fathers in persuading New Yorkers to accept the newly drafted Constitution.

 

The Hamilton Affair by Elizabeth Cobbs
Immerse yourself in the sweeping, tumultuous, true story of Alexander Hamilton and Elizabeth Schuyler, from passionate and tender beginnings of their romance to his fateful duel on the banks of the Hudson River.

 

Kids’ Books

“I’m just like my country—I’m young, scrappy, and hungry, and I am not throwing away my shot.”

Alex & Eliza by Melissa de la Cruz
The romance of young Alexander Hamilton and Elizabeth Schuyler comes to life in this charming YA adaptation.

 

 

Who Was Alexander Hamilton? by Pam Pollack, Meg Belviso, Who HQ, & Dede Putra
Young fans of Hamilton will enjoy this biography from the bestselling Who Was? series.

 

The Duel: The Parallel Lives of Alexander Hamilton and Aaron Burr by Judith St. George
Learn more about these legendary rivals—from their curiously parallel upbringings to their political rivalry and fateful duel.

 

Alexander Hamilton, Revolutionary by Martha Brockenbrough
This riveting and richly illustrated biography will give readers insights into the life of the Founding Father in a way that is easily digestible.

 

 

 

History Books


This post was written by Megan Habel, Brand Strategist at BookPal.  She is currently reading Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel.

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

[type=field]
[type=field]